The Award

The Human Roots Award is an international archaeology award. It was created in 2017 and is awarded annually by MONREPOS - The Archaeological Research Centre and Museum of Human Behavioural Evolution at Schloss Monrepos near Neuwied.

The prize is endowed with 10,000 Euros. Until June 2018, Professor Irenäus Eibl-Eibesfeldt - founder of modern human ethology - was the patron of the Human Roots Award. In July 2018, the world-renowned ethologist and evolutionary biologist Professor Richard Dawkins took over the patronage.

The Human Roots Award honours archaeologists or scientists from associated disciplines for achievements that have exerted extraordinary influence on the understanding of our behavioural evolution. The aim of the award is to promote interdisciplinary scientific dialogue and public awareness of the relevance of insights from the study of BecomIng Human for the future of humanity.



Professor Dr. Michael Tomasello, Duke University

Developmental psychologist and cognitive scientist


Professor Dr. Robin Dunbar, Oxford

Evolutionary psychologist


Professor Steven Pinker, Harvard

Psychologist and cognitive scientist


Professor Richard Dawkins, Oxford

Ethologist, evolutionary biologist and author of countless scientific publications and books